The Numbers: How Lorton Voted in Tuesday's Primary

There were surprisingly few votes cast yesterday

There were few surprises as to the turnout of the local primaries on Tuesday, June 12, 2012. But how did Lorton vote? 

Here are the primary winners who go on to the general election in November:

  • Republican George Allen will face Democrat Tim Kaine for U.S. Sentate
  • Republican Chris Perkins will face incumbent Rep. Gerry Connolly for the 11th Congressional District
  • Democratic U.S. Rep. Jim Moran will face Republican J. Patrick Murray and Independent Jason Howell to keep Virginia's 8th Congressional District seat

And here are the local results:

U.S. Senate Republican Primary

Precinct Votes for George Allen Votes for Jamie Radtke Votes for Bob Marshall Votes for E.W. Jackson 616 Gunston Elementary School 123 26 6 1 617 Lorton Library 24 5 3 0 622 Lorton Station Elementary 37 6 6 1

625 Lorton Center

65 10 23 2

628 Laurel Hill

47 8 3 4

629 South County 

157 13 12 2

U.S. House of Representatives - 11th District Republican Primary

Precinct Votes for Chris Perkins Votes for Ken Vaughn 628 Laurel Hill 51 9 629 South County 160 22

U.S. House of Representatives - 8th District Democratic Primary

Precinct Votes for Jim Moran Votes for Bruce Shuttleworth 616 Gunston Elementary School 73 16 617 Lorton Library 93 4 622 Lorton Station Elementary 95 16 625 Lorton Center 67 18

Keep up with all things Lorton with the Lorton Patch email newsletter and breaking news alerts. Learn more here.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something