Lee District Supervisor Jeff McKay Elected Chair of Northern Virginia Transportation Commission

McKay now oversees the 20-person Commission.

Lee District supervisor Jeff McKay was elected chairman of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission on Jan. 3.

“This is a critical time for transit," McKay said in a statement. "We move more people in Northern Virginia by bus and trains than anywhere else in the state. We need better state support to ensure transit continues to be a large part of Northern Virginia’s economic success. Transit creates jobs, moves people to jobs, and creates enormous economic development opportunities. In light of the economic and political challenges there is no time more important than now to support transit as a key transportation and economic driver for our region.”  

McKay replaces former NVTC Chairman and Arlington County Board member Jay Fisette. The organization’s 20 member board consists of 13 local elected officials, six General Assembly members, and the director of the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation.

McKay, a former Washington Metropolitain Area Transit Authority board member, also chairs the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors’ Transportation Committee. He serves on the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, Virginia Transit Association, Virginia Railway Express operations and sits on the board of the Virginia Associations of Counties.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something